Mended Hearts Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Concern about Night Shifts

Posted 11-06-2023 21:28
    Hello! I'm wondering if anyone has any advice! I'm a 34yo and was very active and healthy apart from random fainting episodes that I had since childhood--which until this year was attributed to an increased stress response and low blood sugar, etc. I'm a certified nurse midwife and was diagnosed with LVNC after passing out in the OR while assisting a c-section at 3am last year. Apparently the episode was prolonged and severe and a respiratory therapist and ICU nurse convinced me to get a cardiac workup. 8 months later I was diagnosed with Left Ventricular Non-Compaction (which is rare but similar to left ventricular hypertrophy) with extensive trabeculations and 50percent EF. I had a tilt test with an 18 second prolonged asystole and so my EP recommended an ICD since he thought I'd need a pacemaker in anycase. I stressed about this decision quite a bit considering I didn't officially meet criteria for an ICD, but decided to get one in July. During this time I stopped taking 24hr hospital shifts and just worked in the clinic. Typically my job involves very high volume busy 24hr shifts 1-2x a week with additional clinic days. I had my EF measured 4 months after I stopped taking call and it increased by 12 percent. My cardiologist said she can't say definitively but it's likely improved since I'm not working long and stressful hrs with night shifts. She also has recommended a less stressful schedule (such as just working clinic, which I'm now doing) but feels my LVNC isn't a medical reason for her to officially recommend that I stop hospital, or night shifts--as far as disability paperwork is involved. Since I stopped working nights I feel so much healthier and more energetic (big surprise!), and I very much don't want to work night shifts again. My work has been extremely accommodating during my cardiac work up, I don't want to be the "princess" of our midwife team, but