Mended Hearts Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

OHS of husband

• 1.  OHS of husband

Posted 10-28-2022 11:04
    Hello all:
    I am a new member and spouse/caregiver. My husband had cabg6 late august. As most of you conveyed who had this procedure, it came as a shock, no symptoms preceding surgery etc. Although I have an understanding of medical information since I was a coronary care nurse many decades ago, everyone who is involved with this situation understands how unbelievably terrifying and stressful and painful the ordeal is  for our loved ones as well as terrifying and stressful for their spouse or caregiver. As a spouse and caregiver , the tears are held back daily until you observe the remnants of a pre surgery personality appearing again.
    The discussions I have read are amazing, bringing light to the various difficulties in the  recovery phase. The discussions related to mortality, nightmares, sadness and depression are so on point and the comforting responses are beautiful. Also, the intermittent rapid pulse or increased blood pressure causing profound fear, should we go to ER, call the Dr is an ongoing experience during recovery. Thankfully my husband started cardiac rehab yesterday. I am thankful to God that my husband is still with me and thankful to the medical team who cared for him. He is recovering well, although he doesn't always believe that. 
    I just wanted to convey how grateful I am for this platform and for all who so freely participate and respond so compassionately. It has been so very helpful to me and I have encouraged my husband Joe to join. 
    Blessings to all,
    Judy

------------------------------
    Judy Moses
    Carnegie PA

• 2.  RE: OHS of husband

Posted 11-01-2022 19:53
    Dear Judy
    it sounds like you and hubby are getting an education as well as a new approach to life since your husband’s surgery.