Mended Hearts Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm

• 1.  Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm

Posted 03-16-2023 08:07

Hello.

My name is Brendon and I am 30 years old. I was diagnosed with a Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm back in 2019. I am a Registered Nurse in an Intensive Care Unit. One night while working, I was kicked in the chest by a patient and went to the ER to check out my chest/neck area to make sure there was no damage. It was at that time that they found no damage from the kick, but incidentally found the AA. I was born with a Bicuspid Aortic Valve, always knew about it, but never knew that aneurysms can form later in life from the connective tissue disorder. Needless to say, it was quite a shock. I was terrified but also relieved to have found it because who knows if I ever would have. Since that day, I feel like my life has completely changed. I immediately sought out the best cardiologist I could find, who specializes in both aneurysms and bicuspid aortic valves, at the top heart care hospital in the country. I am currently in a "stable" status, at 4.8 cms since the discovery. I get yearly check ups and am told I wont undergo surgery until i reach 5 cm, per their protocol. Often times, I feel very down and depressed about it; it feels as though my young life was over as I knew it. Finding this out has created such high amounts of anxiety and fear in everything I do. I used to be such an active person. Running, frequent visits to the gym, avid outdoors activities, etc. Since then, I am scared to do anything. Any time I feel any sort of discomfort, I immediately panic and assume I am having a dissection. I have never in my life had panic attacks, but since the discovery, they are weekly. I have gotten a bit better at handling them, but the stress and fear gets to be so much. I have a very supportive girlfriend in my life, but I have decided I never want to have kids, because I dont ever want them to have to go through losing their